Guest Post – HIIT Workout!

Hey NeverEver’s!

It is Tuesday and that means that it is Guest Post Day!! Today I am really excited for. Actually ecstatic is really the word for it. Today Nicole from A Wild Horse Blog created a Workout for all of us! So lets get our gym clothes on and get ready to workout!!

*****

Hello NeverEver readers! I’m Nicole and I blog at A Wild Hope. I am so thrilled to be guest posting today for Alicia. I love Alicia’s approach to living a healthy lifestyle. For me, living healthily is as much about feeling balanced as it is about looking my best. I discovered many years ago that I NEED exercise in my life daily in order to feel mentally balanced. As someone who battles anxiety, I’ve found that exercise is one of the most effective ways to keep my sanity.

Over the years, I have tried an array of fitness methods: dance class, traditional cardio, distance running, strength training, pilates, yoga. You name it; I have probably done it at least once. These days, I find that I feel best about myself when I do a combination of heavy lifting and yoga throughout the week. More than any other work out, these two activities have helped me to focus on what my body can do [squat an impressive amount of weight] as opposed to how it looks or how much it weighs.

 

In order to get my heart rate up without doing traditional steady state cardio, which I find mind-numbingly boring, I try
to incorporate high intensity interval training [HIIT]. HIIT training can be done in a variety of different ways, but I like to incorporate HIIT into my strength training. This way, my workouts are short, intense and incredibly effective.

The HIIT workout I’ve put together for you today is a total body circuit. Complete 10 reps of each exercise in the set successively, without rest. Rest for 30 seconds between each set. Complete each set of exercises 3 times. See the section below the workout for explanations of each exercise

Disclaimer: I am not a certified fitness instructor. I am just someone who likes to work out. This workout should be completed at your discretion.

Exercise Explanations:

Surfer Jumps: Stand on you mat facing the right, sink into a squat, jump and twist 180 degree, land in a squat facing the left for 1 rep.

Burpees: Stand at the top of your mat, crouch down until your hands touch the mat right in front of your feet. Jump back until you are in plank position, jump back in and return to standing for 1 rep. * You can add a push up while in plank if you really want a challenge.

Jumping Lunges: Sink into a lunge with your right foot forward. Push off to a jump, switching your feet in air. Land with your left foot forward in a lunge for 1 rep.

Bicep Curls: stand with feet shoulder width apart, holding a dumbbell in each hand, palms facing out. Curl your arm up until you hand is parallel to your shoulder, squeezing your bicep at the top. Repeat on the opposite arm for 1 rep.

Tricep Kickback: Holding dumbbell in each hand, bend your knees and hinge forward at the hip, keeping your back flat. Bend your arms 90 degrees, and then straighten to squeeze your triceps for 1 rep.

Military Shoulder Press: Stand with feet shoulder width apart. Bend your arms at a 90 degree angle at the elbow, with biceps facing the ceiling, palms facing out. Press weights up by straightening your arms parallel to your head. Return to start for 1 rep.

Sumo Squats: Stand with legs spread wide, feet turned out, hold a weight with both hands in front of your body. Sink into a deep squat, lowering the weight to the floor. Return to start for 1 rep

Single Leg Deadlift: Holding a dumbbell in each hand, bend 1 leg slightly, and extend the other behind you. Hinge forward so that dumbbells almost touch the floor at a 90 degree angle from your body and back leg extends parallel to the floor. Return to start without placing the back leg on the floor for 1 rep.

I hope you enjoy this workout! If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to me at wildlyhopefulnicole@gmail.com

If you want to know more about me, or see more posts on living happily and healthily stop by A Wild Hope. You can also follow me on Twitter @wildlyhopeful for updates on my latest posts.

One thought on “Guest Post – HIIT Workout!

Leave a Reply

