Sugar Cleanse is Happening!

Hey NeverEver’s!

So I am crazy. Its the only way I can explain to you all my want to do a sugar cleanse in the middle of the Holiday Season. What has possessed me to do this? I am still not sure to tell the truth but I feel like I have to do this. My in-law family doesn’t do sweets and my parents are in a moving truck 300 days of the year so it isn’t like I actually have excuses as to my own sweet tooth. Especially since anything sweet that is brought into the house is by me.

Ya its ok I know I am insane but let me share it with all of you!

I am already doing my Shakeology every morning, which keeps me full for lunch time. I have dropped my soda habit (which wasn’t really a habit it was more ‘Ok I will drink it if its there’ type thing). Which if I am being honest be doesn’t feel like that much. Sometimes, I feel like ‘Ok so I don’t have soda anymore big woop’ or ‘ya I am eating breakfast but I don’t see any results’. And those are the moments when I have to remember that I didn’t build this body in 1 day. I have about 10 years of damage, neglect, and abuse to get through. Its not going to happen over night, in a week or even a month. So I should be happy with the steps, small and large, that I have been able to do.

However, I want to do more. So I am going on a sugar cleanse. Which started as a bet with the hubby…which most things do if I am gonna be honest with everything. He said that although I gave up soda that there was NO way I could control my sweet tooth. Now to be fair he would in most cases be right…but I wanna win this bet (with the side effect of actually controlling my sweet tooth) so I am going to win this thing!

Here are the rules.

1. I am allowed 1 spoon / packet of brown sugar or stevia for my coffee a day.
2. No processed foods or eating out at fast food joints for the rest of the month
3. No baked goodies…AT ALL
4. I am allowed 1 cheat item 1 time every week.

Now I know that the ‘white’ products are just as processed as anything else you can find…but I will tell you right now. I can deal w/ brown sugar, wheat flour, wheat bread but I will not switch my potatoes. I do not like sweet potatoes and will stick with my real deal.

Other then that I, after this weekend, will be really watching my intake. Of course I am not planning on having many holiday parties and I did include at least 1 ‘cheat’ item. So I do believe I am safe (so I say at the beginning ^_^).

Some of the things that I will be looking out for because while I am trying to take out as much processed things as I can…if I have to I will choose the lesser of 2 evils so to speak. So these words I will be scanning for.

Now what am I going to do about food? Well most of my plans are coming from SkinnyTaste for Gina’s soups and meals. All of her things have real ingredients and are perfect for people that are still figuring out the kitchen. But, since it is, supposedly (it was 85 last night!) colder this coming week…Soups here I come!

I will be doing my meal planning on Sunday so I will share with you all what my meal plan is looking like. All I do know is that I will be getting tons of veggies / fruit and meat. Which doesn’t sound too bad at all.

Okay NeverEver’s, enjoy your Friday! I am going to try to talk the Hubby into going to see Thor (I want my hottie!!!) and having dinner with me. I will see you all on Sunday!

Have you ever done a sugar cleanse? Still a soda addict or have you kicked it? Am I crazy (its okay to answer truthfully ^_~)?

4 thoughts on “Sugar Cleanse is Happening!

  1. I've never really done a sugar cleanse, but sometimes before a marathon I will try to cut it out of my diet for a few weeks leading into a race. But truthfully right now, I have a bad addition to Pepsi, darn them its so good, yet so bad.. But I am working on cutting down, and hopefully plan to only drink one a week…

  2. I haven't eaten sugar in 12 years! Can you believe it? If you need any advice, help, etc, please don't hesitate to ask!

    Have you ever heard of ZEVIA? It's a zero calories/zero sugar soda sweetened with Stevia! It's MAGICAL and a dream come true. If you're stuck on your soda, you'll LOVE this stuff 🙂

    Also, have you tried making butternut squash “fries” – SOOOOO delicious!

    Oh and my only problem with shakeology is that it does contain added sugar, but if you're okay with that, then go for it!

  3. Wow 12 years is amazing! I have heard of Zevia but I haven't even seen it in the stores, I will take a look into it, I have been extremely lucky that I have been able to give up soda for so long.

    No I haven't tried butternut squash fries, I will be googling it. And I do understand about my shakeology does have sugar. However, I think the good out weighs the bad 9g's of sugar. I might have to take another look at it after a few weeks if the good still out weighs the bad ^_~.

    Thank you for the support!

Leave a Reply

